Another response to the A40 statement!

Standard

Here is the full text of the responses received – strictly in order of receipt

Green Party Candidate Claire Lasko:

“Unpredictable congestion on the A40 is strangling social and economic life in West Oxfordshire The problem will only worsen when many more houses are built here.

Dualling the A40 is not a solution. Traffic reached saturation point years ago and more road capacity instantly attracts more traffic.

A public transport solution is required, preferably a train from Carterton through Witney to Oxford. It is extraordinary that a conurbation of the size that Witney-Carterton will reach in a very few years does not have a rail link to the outside world. Until it does, the area will continue in isolation and relative decline.

It is imperative that WOT continue its invaluable work if these aims are to be met.
Best wishes”

(Green Party / on behalf of Claire Lasko 18/05/17 14:52 (email))


Robert Courts, Conservative candidate:

Thank you for your email about the A40.  I am grateful to you for raising this matter and for all the work that you do to draw attention to problems on the road.
Let me assure you that I share your frustration about the congestion on the A40, and, if I may say, also share your determination to solve this matter once and for all.
Indeed, I have brought the Transport Secretary down to Witney to see the congestion on the A40 for himself, and have also raised this issue in the House of Commons.  Should I be re-elected I will continue to lobby central government to provide the funding and expertise necessary to end the congestion on the road.
You might to be interested to know that I am currently petitioning Parliament for this very purpose. I hoping to amass as many signatories as possible to ensure the Government takes notice of the widespread discontent over the A40, and, crucially, the need to address this issue as soon as possible.  Should I be re-elected, one of the first things I will do is present the petition to Parliament.  I hope that this will bring the Government to the negotiating table so we can press for the funding and expertise necessary to provide a sustainable, long-term fix to the road.
I would invite you to sign the petition, (www.robertcourts.co.uk/a40), and would be grateful if you could encourage others to do so too.
Many thanks again and I hope we can work together on this issue in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Robert

(received by email at 16:01 Monday 22 May 2017)


PS) the Witney Gazette wrote to all the candidates and published their views here

